Homemade wild mushroom mayonnaise

I love mayonnaise. I mean it. I love mayonnaise even more than the average Brit (which is a lot more than the average American). I can eat that stuff with a spoon. However, to my shame, I have never made homemade mayo before today.
It’s not as thick as the products you buy in the store, but I found the flavor to be far superior to the HFCS (high fructose corn syrup) enriched condiments available for purchase.

For the fat content, I chose canola and walnut oils because of the regional availability of their base ingredients (rapeseed and walnuts). At the house my husband grew up in, there was an enormous black walnut tree. I had dreams of making my own oil. You know maybe some day I’ll figure out a way to be self-sufficient while not living off-the-grid with a young family and no real land of which to speak… Or maybe I won’t.

So, anyway I foraged some oyster mushrooms… from the local food co-op. Okay, okay, okay. So, they aren’t “wild”, but they are locally sourced and as far as I know they are also indigenous to the area. By lightly sauteeing the caps and stems, it brings out their flavor all the more.

What you will need:

  • 2 large local egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup/120ml canola oil
  • 1/2 cup/120ml walnut oil
  • 1/2 cup wild mushroom, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice (This is optional. Obviously lemons aren’t native to the area, but I enjoy the zesty notes which a quick squeeze of citrus brings.)

How you can do it:

  1. Fill a large bowl with ice water and set aside. Bring 2 inches/5cm of water to a simmer in a saucepan over medium-low heat.
  2. Whisk together the egg yolk, vinegar and 1 tablespoon water in a medium glass or ceramic bowl.
  3. Set the bowl with the yolk mixture over the saucepan and continue to whisk until a thermometer inserted into the yolk mixture reads 150°F/65°C.
  4. Set the bowl with the yolk mixture in the ice water to stop the cooking; whisk just until the mixture is warm not cold.
  5. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt. 
  6. Combine the oils in a measuring cup. Whisking constantly, slowly drizzle the oil into the bowl in a thin stream until smooth and thick. Whisk in a couple of teaspoons of water if the mayonnaise separates (like mine did).
  7. Sautee chopped mushroom and stir in to the mayo along with the lemon juice.

I encourage you to try this recipe with or without the mushrooms. It feels like a great achievement to make such a common commodity for yourself instead of buying it at the store.

If you make any variation of this recipe, please share it with me and use #wildmushroommayonnaise and #CookingWithMummaAlsum.

2 thoughts on “Homemade wild mushroom mayonnaise

Leave a Reply

